Log in

Is DataAnnotation legit?

Here are the facts for United States. We don’t give a verdict — you decide.

Checked 24 Sep 2026 · every fact has a source below

AI training

Not clear
Pay, in your money
$20/ hour

Official FAQ: general $25-30+/hr, multilingual $20+/hr, coding/STEM/professional $50-100+/hr. Official job board (2026): generalist $25-50/hr, language specialists $25-40/hr, coding up to $150+/hr. Whether rates differ by country is not stated.

FeeNoneOfficial FAQ: 'We will never ask for money from you for anything.'No one should ask you to pay to work.
Entry testYesOfficial FAQ: Starter Assessment can only be taken once (no retakes); ~1-2 hours. Baseline 'bachelor's degree or equivalent experience' for general work (job board: 'No degree required'); STEM needs master's/PhD or bachelor's + 10 yrs; professional needs licensed credentials. Multilingual track requires native fluency; all workers must be fluent in English. ID verification via Persona (government photo ID + selfie). No reply is sent to many rejected applicants.
Payouts that work in United States
PayPal
HoursNot stated

Risks people report

Sources: DataAnnotation FAQs (pay, PayPal, one-attempt assessment, Persona IDV) (official page, checked 24 Sep 2026); DataAnnotation job board (roles and rates) (official page, checked 24 Sep 2026); DataAnnotation Hindi Specialist role (official page, checked 24 Sep 2026); aitrainer.work: DataAnnotation review (6-country claim, Aug 2026) (third-party, checked 24 Sep 2026)